Kops4Kidz.The Gareth Presch Story.The fight of your life!

Where do I start!

kops4kidz-Feb 10th 2012 in the Wright Venue Swords_Photo Tony St Ledger

kops4kidz-Feb 10th 2012 in the Wright Venue Swords_Photo Tony St Ledger

Fantastic night – Boom!!!!

KOPS 4 KIDZ- The Wright Venue -Photo Tony St Ledger

KOPS 4 KIDZ- The Wright Venue before the Bell -Photo Tony St Ledger

So, I arrive at the Wright Venue and the nerves are building (4pm), 3 hours to showtime, I work away sticking up posters and helping out setting up. The lads from White Collar are as chilled as a cucumber!

KOPS 4 KIDZ This is round One - Card Girl- Photo Tony St Ledger

KOPS 4 KIDZ This is round One - Card Girl- Photo Tony St Ledger

6pm, the rest of the lads arrive – the atmosphere is building. This is going to be special. Fight briefing over we head over the road to the waiting area. I look around and every boxer is in the zone – in particular, Conor Gleeson! I’m on 7th so I just relax and head back over to the event to see some of the bouts. I soon realise that might not be the best prep as I see the bouts and the nerves set in! 4th bout down and I head back across to get changed. I’m in the zone now. I do some pad work and loosen up. I feel good, Like all the boxers I’ve trained hard for 6 weeks for this fight.

I move over to the Wright Venue – I’m nervous! I move into the back room and the lads are top notch, hats off to them. They really motivate me. Boom,Boom….. Move….

In the Red Corner…. I’m out next! The crowd is just unbelievable. I walk in and the nerves are gone. It’s showtime, a few words from the ref and I focus on the opponent. Dave O’Brien gives me some valuable words and I’m off!! Boom…..

Round 1: I hear the crowd but that’s in the background now – it’s fight time. Alan comes out like a train… my tactics are to move etc. They’re out the window. I just go for it…. Boom,boom, pow! We’re really at it…. I feel good and just keep pounding away. Ding,ding… round one over!

I’m in the corner and my corner reckon I’ve just about won that round – Dave in my corner full of great advice…. what’s said in the corner stays in the corner!

Gareth Kops4Kidz

Gareth Presch

Round 2: Alan comes out like a man possessed – boom, he hits me a solid jab and I can tell you I can feel it! He keeps coming and again the tactics are out the window, he pounds me and I then get back at him in the corner…. Ding, Ding…. over to the corner we go.

Alan’s won that round for sure.

Round 3: Dave says it as it is – I have to win this round.

We meet like to planets colliding!!! I just go for it, I just keep focused, I think of my support, my wife Krista who’s put up with me working until the wee hours over the past 3 months and all the lads supporting, Dave and Darran giving me advice etc. I give it everything. I’m wishing every second away as Alan just keeps coming! Ding,ding…. what a relief…. I’m not sure but I can see from the crowd reaction we’ve put on a show and that’s the main thing.

Split decision and I’ve just about won it! All the hard training and effort has paid off. Alan and I gave it everything, like every man who fought last night – we done it for the Kids and CRUMLIN and that’s all you can ask.

The effort and commitment shown by every boxer and everyone who has contributed to the event must be commended.

Gareth Presch and Shane Byrne - Fighters at Kops4Kidz 2012

Gareth Presch and Shane Byrne - Fighters at Kops4Kidz 2012

Tony St Ledger, Gareth Presch and David Conlon at Kops4Kidz 2012

Tony St Ledger, Gareth Presch and David Conlon Seconds out at Kops4Kidz 2012

From the committee I would like to express my sincere thank you to all. €85,000 – BOOM!!!!

Gareth Presch KOPS 4 KIDZ

Gareth Presch KOPS 4 KIDZ

Gareth Presch KOPS 4 KIDZ.

Next event, Moxie Challenge – www.moxieadventurechallenge.com Enter code k4k1 when entering before the 1st March and 10% goes to St Johns Ward. See Fitheads.ie for training sessions on the event.

Yes that is €7.50 euro going to KOPS4KIDZ for every entry! Go Moxie!

http://www.facebook.com/Kops4Kidz

donate | live | share | sponsor

On the 10th February 2012 at the Wright Venue – 28 members of An Garda Síochána and 2 Civilians fought to raise over €85,000 for St Johns Ward, Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital,Crumlin.

Kops4Kidz. Worth fighting for.

a Tony St Ledger Film for TTV

Music and Film created by http://www.tonystledger.com/ © 2012

About Sense The Adventure

Bringing the world of adventure to life
This entry was posted in Gareth Presch, Kops 4 Kidz and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

